The Big UDK Help Thread

Design and Production related topics can be found here.
101562
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 6:46 pm

The Big UDK Help Thread

Post by 101562 » Wed Oct 02, 2013 1:45 pm

Hello fellow designers :)

Since I know that the 2nd years are currently working on their level design course, I thought it might be useful to create a thread where people can post their problems & solutions, ask for feedback and get it etc.
Maybe there are also some other people working on UDK (like 3rd years for Andy's course, or side project). So let's keep this thread friendly and helpful and create some bitch-ass levels :D
Jeroen Bloemhoff
4th Year Designer/Funny Guy
QA Intern Vanguard Games

User avatar
120044
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 3:13 pm
Location: Breda
Contact:

Re: The Big UDK Help Thread

Post by 120044 » Wed Oct 02, 2013 6:24 pm

Exactly what I just needed. I have the following weird issue that suddenly popped up; my anchor tooltip is turned really weirdly, making it impossible for me to move objects properly:

Image

It only occurs when vertices are selected in geometry mode... Has anyone experienced this? I don't even know what to Google for, otherwise I wouldn't ask.
Matthijs van de Laar | 2GA-3DP
Design & Production
http://twirlbound.com

User avatar
120044
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 3:13 pm
Location: Breda
Contact:

Re: The Big UDK Help Thread

Post by 120044 » Wed Oct 02, 2013 6:28 pm

I fixed it; it had to do with the local/world setting of the editor. I'll leave this here for other people having trouble with it. Change it in the top bar:

Image
Matthijs van de Laar | 2GA-3DP
Design & Production
http://twirlbound.com

101562
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 6:46 pm

Re: The Big UDK Help Thread

Post by 101562 » Thu Oct 03, 2013 7:22 pm

I know that problem, had the exact same thing in my year >.<
Cost me a lot of time cause I wasn't as fast as you, but glad you solved it :D
Jeroen Bloemhoff
4th Year Designer/Funny Guy
QA Intern Vanguard Games

121006
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 3:30 pm

Re: The Big UDK Help Thread

Post by 121006 » Sun Oct 06, 2013 2:18 am

Awesome, a UDK Help Thread :D

I have a problem with UDK as well, and i think it might be a bit more difficult to solve.

I am using windows 8 (with great pleasure) but i am not able to play UDK Game Multiplayer with people that do not use windows 8.

I tried to connect to a lot of classmates who have windows 7, but UDK could not connect to any one at all. I also tried to connect to other people with windows 8 and that was no problem. I asked the other people i know who use windows 8 and they are experiencing the same problem.

I tried everything. Booting it with and without steam, using a LAN cable, changing my internet and firewall settings, running in compatibility mode, running as admin, connect over wifi, connect with hamachi. But nothing seems to work. I checked google, the EpicGames forum etc, but have not found anything about it.
Does anyone know or this might be due to some weird settings problem in windows 8? I would really like to test my level with other people at school what is impossible for me now.

Please Help.
ლ(ಠ益ಠლ Wilco Boode ლ(ಠ益ಠლ
Design & Production

101562
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 6:46 pm

Re: The Big UDK Help Thread

Post by 101562 » Tue Oct 08, 2013 2:02 pm

I'm guessing it's some problem in Windows 8, as I'm using it too and it changes so much stuff and it fucks up a lot of things.
I'd recommend asking Ronny Franken for help in an e-mail, and if he can't help maybe you can try contact Freek Hoekstra via Facebook. I don't know if he'll have time to help, but in my experience he at least always tries.

Don't tunnel too much on this problem though, and keep working on your level and test is as much as possible with bots, cause that's still valuable information. But good luck anyway :)
Jeroen Bloemhoff
4th Year Designer/Funny Guy
QA Intern Vanguard Games

121646
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 4:14 pm

Re: The Big UDK Help Thread

Post by 121646 » Sun Oct 13, 2013 1:42 pm

Just finished my first iteration and now I need/want to add some camera's so I can take some screenshots from fixed locations (for before and after changes shots). But after google-ing I only found tutorials that involved scripting, anyone know wether there is also an easier way without using Kismet?
Tim Kruijsen
Design & Production
2GA-3DP

101562
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 6:46 pm

Re: The Big UDK Help Thread

Post by 101562 » Wed Oct 16, 2013 11:59 am

Added a camera is easy, but using it through Kismet can be quite tricky when you're just starting.
So unless you want to use it for dynamic events (which I strongly recommend not doing for this assignment) I would advice you to just make screenshots the regular way.
Jeroen Bloemhoff
4th Year Designer/Funny Guy
QA Intern Vanguard Games

121646
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 4:14 pm

Re: The Big UDK Help Thread

Post by 121646 » Wed Oct 16, 2013 8:35 pm

Well, using Kismet for camera's turned out to be easier than I thought. But just out of interest, what is the 'regular' way of taking screenshots in UDK?
Tim Kruijsen
Design & Production
2GA-3DP

101562
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 6:46 pm

Re: The Big UDK Help Thread

Post by 101562 » Thu Oct 17, 2013 3:25 pm

Ehm...print screen?
Jeroen Bloemhoff
4th Year Designer/Funny Guy
QA Intern Vanguard Games

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest